Skip to main content

State Required Assessments

Assessment and Accountability handles student achievement testing required by the state. Among these tests are the following:

  • SBAC (Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium)
    State mandated test for grades 3-8 and 11
    • English Language Arts
    • Mathematics
  • CAST (California Science Test)
    State mandated test for grades 5, 8, and 12
  • PFT (Physical Fitness Testing)
    State mandated test for grades 5, 7, and 9
  • MDTP (Mathematics Diagnostic Test Project)
    State mandated test for grade 9

For eligible students* only:

  • CAA (California Alternate Assessment)
    • English Language Arts
    • Mathematics
    • Science

*Students with the most significant cognitive disabilities and whose individualized education program (IEP) team has designated the use of an alternate assessment on statewide summative assessments - in place of SBAC and CAST.